trinitychurch_smThe College Performing Arts Center (PAC) began its life as Trinity Lutheran Church. It was designed by Astoria architect John Wicks and constructed during the depression on the site of the original Convent of the Holy Name. The church purchased the land in 1930 and the construction was financed through a depression-relief program. The church was completed in 1936 and three years later a 23-rank Espey pipe organ was installed in the church. After the Trinity congregation moved to another building in 1974, the PAC was acquired by Clatsop Community College and reopened in 1977 as a performing arts center. In 1998 the College removed the building from the City of Astoria’s list of local landmarks and removed the upper one-third of the steeple because the structure was “unreparable and a danger.”

The building remains a gem in the community. It is an indispensable performance and rehearsal resource for local and visiting performing arts groups. With an audience capacity of 250, the PAC fills a distinct niche within the cultural community of Clatsop and Pacific counties and makes access to a wide range of experiences available and affordable to all who live and work here.